Osama Bin Laden

Posted: May 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Osama bin Laden was the most wanted man in the world until this past weekend. Consider the following questions:

  • How do you feel about his capture and death?
  • There is some controversy about President Obama’s refusal to release photos of the corpse of Bin Laden. Offer an argument for releasing the photos and an argument against. What do you think the right thing to do is?
  • How do you feel the existence of people like Bin Laden and his followers affect your life?
Comments
  1. Maddie S. says:

    I think the death of Osama is a key event for America i completely support Obama’s choice on capturing and killing Osama. I think having pictures shown may not be a good idea. The country knows they killed him and thats all that matters. Because of what our country has doen Al Queda may try and get back at us and try to have another 9/11 all over again.

  2. Lauren Y says:

    I feel that it is a good thing that he is dead but I don’t feel that we should really be celebrating anyone’s death. Well releasing them could bring people comfort in knowing he’s dead but it could also get Osama’s terrorist friends all ready to kill us. I think Obama made the right decision when he decided not to release the pictures. I feel that we may have taken down Bin Laden but that doesn’t that there aren’t people out there who want to hurt us and it’s a little scary to think about which is why I try not to.

  3. Chelsea Murphy says:

    I think that it was good for our country to finally kill him. I don’t think he should because that may just reveal to must information to the public. They don’t really effect my life but they do to others around me, including all the family members of the people who died on 9/11.

  4. Mandy T says:

    I belive they did the best way of capturing him that was possible. I understand why Obama would not want to release pictures because it will give a little respect at the time to other countries. But also they are very gruesome. I believe they might come back and try to destroy us.

  5. Allison I. says:

    I think Osama deserved to be killed. He killed many people in America that affected all of their friends and family as well.
    I think we should be able to see them. The people have to right to see them. Especially the people he affected.
    I don’t think they affect my life but they affect other Americans life. They affect my country though and someday they could easily affect my life.

  6. lowe says:

    feel awesome that he is finally “hopefully” dead

    i think they should so we are 100% sure and have a true answer that he’s dead…

    but maybe shouldn’t cause maybe it’s too graphic

    still think we should cause of the basic fact maybe they’re lying

    maybe the basic fact that it’s costing us so much money that we could be using in better ways to pay other countries back for the help they have given.

  7. Amanda W says:

    I think that the capture and killing of Bin Laden is totally random and unexpected. I think that people would use the photos as a bad way of advertising, and I do not think that people should be celebrating the death of Bin Laden to that extent. It’s almost inhumane. But, it would also be a good idea because I think that some people in the United States deserve to see that he is really dead. I think the right thing to do is not show them. That way, there is no problems. People like Osama Bin Laden effect our lives as a whole because it’s our people that are getting hurt and suffering lost ones because of what terrorists like him do.

  8. Emily R. says:

    i think it is a good thing that he is dead. cause now the families that lost people in 9-11 can have a peace of mind and in a way they kind of got there revenge on him. With the pictures i think that they should release some maybe like two or three. and just make sure that they arnt to violent of anything just so that people will no what really went on. and i would also say to not let the video out.

  9. Feige says:

    I feel great about him being captured and dead. I think that it would be okay for Obama to release pictures of Osama. They don’t really affect my life as much as others around me because of what happened and the people who lost loved ones.

  10. Heth says:

    If you asked these questions to a New Yorkers they would have very strong feelings towards this topic. I think that the capture and death of Osama could possibly lead to an end of Al Queda’s strategy department. Also now they cannot use Osama’s money that he inherited from his father who was a multi billionaire. Obama must have though of something when not releasing the pictures so I think people who don’t believe he is dead will always doubt it. With the existence of Bin laden and his followers you always fear some kind of breach in security.

  11. Miranda B1 says:

    I feel that it was about time that it happened. I understand why he didn’t give out the photos, honestly I am not the type of person that likes to look at dead bodies, But for those that are still not 100% sure i can see why that would be a big deal. But photo wise I’m not really on either side. Honestly, I haven’t been effected by Bin Laden as much as other people. I was lucky enough that no one in my family or friends were caught up in 9/11. I have almost no relation to the twin towers and I was to young and barley remember that day.

  12. Kylie R. says:

    I am glad that they caught him and killed him. He was the most wanted man in the world, he deserved to be caught. I do think America has the right to see pictures of what has happened but if Obama is keeping them from us he is obviously trying to protect us from he thinks is to brutal for us to handle. I think the right thing to do is to respect our presidents decisions. They affect my life because it makes me think of some of the things they could end up doing to hurt our country.

  13. Makaygan P says:

    I’m thankful that the U.S. finally took down Bin Laden, but i wish they would have been able to take him alive to put him on trial. A lot of people don’t think that Osama is dead they think its just one of his men that look like him. Obama should be able to do whatever he wants with the pictures and the news he has. It really hasn’t affected our lives here in south Dakota, but to other people its different. Many families can go on and have closure with that situation knowing he is gone. But just because he is gone doesn’t mean that this fight is over.

  14. Darin H says:

    I think that his capture and death is a good thing. The only way that it could have been better is if he was alive and captured. We could have got information from him.

    I think they should release the photos because it proves his death. They shouldn’t release them because will cause more harm and feelings. I think that they should release them.

    The existence of them can harm our country and make us go bankrupt like he wants.

  15. kenneth c says:

    i think its great that we found him, would have been nicer if we did not have to kill him. i think the photos should be kept out of the press because they’ll probably be exploited or photo shoped to make some photo trying to be funny. it wasn’t bin laden’s plan to kill us all his plan was to effect our economy and he pretty much succeeded.

  16. Zach A says:

    I feel like it’s a good thing that we finally got the man who caused such a tragedy in our country. On the argument to release the photos, I think that having proof for the public is a good thing. But against that argument, no matter what you release, conspiracy theorists will never believe it. I feel that it effects my life because of all of the extra security almost everywhere.

  17. Megan R says:

    I think the soldiers who killed him did the right thing. Even if they were to have just capture him and put him on trial, odds are that they would be killing him anyway so why not just get it over with? I really don’t think it’s that big of a deal if the pictures get released or not. I don’t think it will do any harm to release them, so why not? It’s kind of scary to think that there are people like Osama out there. People that want to cause harm to people for no particular reason.

  18. Jordan F. says:

    I feel like America can go on now not having to worry about bin laden again. The ten year hunt of trying to find him is over now. I think it was a good choice to not show the pictures of bin laden. They weren’t very necessary. I believe that they already have enough proof to show that bin laden is dead. Bin laden and his followers affect our lives daily. The bombing that they did on 9/11 did damage to our country in many ways.

  19. Emily B says:

    I think that Bin Ladens death was a good thing for a lot of americans. The people who lost loved ones on september 11th are probably i little relieved that he is finally dead. I think it is a good thing that the president isn’t releasing any of the pictures of bin ladens death. I say that because a lot of people think that should just be confindential. People like Bin Laden affect our lives, because you never know when we will be attacked again. We could be attacked tomorrow. We just never know.

  20. Cyler A says:

    i think that it was a good day for the US when the navy seals captured and killed osama bin laden. I think the right thing to do is let the world see the pictures so we have proof that we killed osama bin laden and that if u attack us first,we’ll hit harder. i think that the al quadians are going to retaliate from this event because osama was there leader and there most likely angered from his death, and this whole event will cause the gas prices to go up a lot.

  21. Alex T says:

    I think that we captured him and killed him was a good thing. I think that the right thing to do would have been to show a video of where he was being dumped off of the boat. There are many reasons Obama might not have wanted pictures of him being leaked out. One may be that it’s to grafic for younger people to see an actual dead person. I think that that the existence of people like him have an effect on me but since nothing personal has happened to me from them im not as worried about them effecting my life as much as if my life were to have been altered by the terrorist.

  22. Eli Plunkett says:

    His Capture and Death:
    I fell glad that after so many year, we took out the head of the terrorism, though i fully acknowledge that we aren’t done and will have to deal with his followers, trying to avenge, or continue on his legacy.
    RELEASING PHOTOS:
    For: We need to see how much the seals OWNED HIM!
    Against: There is no need to see what has been done to him, it changes nothing, no matter how cool or fun it may seem to see it. It changes not the matter that he is dead, it doesn’t change that we did it, by us seeing it, nothing changes, so why must people argue and fihgt to see it, It would be nothing more than a few seconds of “Wow, thats interesting!” Thats all.
    -How does his existence affect my life?
    Well, he isn’t exactly affecting me, he only gave our men more reasons to go to Iraq, We have spent years hunting for him, so he hasn’t directly affected my life, but he has affected many others who may have lost people in the war because of him.

  23. Catrina W says:

    I don’t like that he is dead, but I’m happy for the people who lost loved ones because of him and I’m glad he’s gone.

    I don’t think we should release them because it could upset his followers, and it would be inappropriate. Some people would probably run around with T- shirts or something with pictures of the dead Osama on them. On the other hand, not releasing the photos might lead some people to believe he is not really dead.

    Osama and his people have not affected me that much, but they’ve affected many people just like me in a huge way. The only way they have affected me so far is that they have made me feel emotions like sadness for the people he did affect, pity for him when he lost his life, and fear for my life and other American’s.

  24. Tori D says:

    I feel that his capture and death is very important to our nation. Especially for the people who lost loved ones in the attack on 9/11.

    If they release the photos, it would be kind of like a “done deal”. People would have no doubt if Osama was really dead or not. There are a few reasons not to release the photos though. The photos would be very disturbing to some people. I would be one that would be disturbed so for me the right thing to do is to keep the photos to themselves.

    Osama and people like him affect my life, especially right after 9/11, because I worry that they could have killed someone in my family.

  25. Riley L. says:

    How do you feel about his capture and death?
    Mission accomplished, now lets leave the middle east and focus on our problems back at home.
    There is some controversy about President Obama’s refusal to release photos of the corpse of Bin Laden. Offer an argument for releasing the photos and an argument against. What do you think the right thing to do is?
    We should release the photos because he can’t be for sure if he is dead or not.
    Don’t release the photos because that is disgraceful to Bin Laden’s family and Muslims.
    I don’t think we should release the photos because it just isn’t right.
    How do you feel the existence of people like Bin Laden and his followers affect your life?
    Not very much, What bin Laden did was kill around 4,000 people; when we left him and his follows in the late 1990’s to get massacred by the russians was it a surprise to anyone that Bin Laden was furious and wanted to get revenge? Not to me. I am not justifying what Bin Laden did but I don’t why we should still be in the middle east since Sadam Hussein is dead, we have found no weapons of mass destruction, and now finally Osama is also dead.

  26. David S. says:

    I feel that killing Osama is a good symbol of the U.S. doing well in its war on terror. Showing the pictures of Osama would expose many people to a fairly gruesome image. It could also be taken by terrorists as a symbol of Osama’s supposed martyrdom. However, on the other hand, it might calm some conspiracy theorists. I don’t think that there is a right or wrong action to take, but I think that the decision to withhold the photos is probably a prudent one. I feel that terrorists have affected by life by drawing the United States into conflicts and thus ultimately causing all of the problems that come with war.

Leave a Reply

